Painting ‘The Dragon’ Part 2

Posted: May 21, 2013 in art, culture, lesson, painting, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

100_1033100_1032

So after I finish my initial sketch of ‘The Dragon’, I prime my canvas with Gesso. Gesso is a thick white primer that seals, stiffens and provides surface “tooth” for painting surfaces. I like to use ‘Basics’ by Liquitex, it works really well. It gives me a smooth surface to paint on.

Apply the Gesso conservatively, building up layers if you want it thick. Putting it on too thick adds texture to the painting, which I prefer to add later when I lay down the actual paint. I don’t really want to mess with texture at this stage. Stay tuned for Part 3.

-Roz Barron Abellera

Leave a Reply

