100_1036

After I sketched the design onto the canvas, I painted the background black. This is just the underpainting. The actual background is going to be red.

I painted it black first for two reasons: 1) I don’t like painting onto a stark white canvas. I found when you paint on a stark white canvas, sometimes there are always little “white spots” that you don’t notice until you take a close up picture of your painting or scan your painting. 2) I want some of the black to show through the red. The background will not be a solid red, It will look kind of weathered and with some of the black showing through.

Part 5 is coming soon.

-Roz Barron Abellera

Leave a Reply

