Painting ‘The Dragon’ Part 5

Posted: June 13, 2013 in art, culture, lesson, painting, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

100_1037

I started to lay down the red background over the black underpainting. As you can see I didn’t go for a solid red background. I wanted it to look kind of weathered and blending in a little with the black. Here’s a closer look:

100_1038

Another way you can achieve this look is to use what I call a “dry brush” technique. What I do in that technique is take a brush and I don’t wet it or wet the paint with water. I dab a little paint straight from the tube onto the brush. I then drag the dry brush very lightly over the canvas. This will pretty much give me the same look.

I chose to do it this way instead because I like having layers upon layers of paint. It’s just a preference of mine. See you at Part 6.

-Roz Barron Abellera

Leave a Reply

