Andy Warhol’s ‘Soup Cans’: Why is this Art?

Posted: September 20, 2013 in art, culture, famous quotes, lesson, music, painting, Uncategorized, video
Tags: , , , , , , ,

This video analyzes Andy Warhol’s ‘Soup Cans’ and asks: Why is this Art? Looking at the comments on YouTube, you can see that people are divided on this: some say it’s art, others say that it isn’t.

Everyone has a right to their opinion. My opinion is that it is art. Why wouldn’t it be? Is it not a case of a person expressing himself visually? Just because the subject is ‘Soup Cans’ and not a vase of flowers on a table why is this somehow considered less “art” to some people? I guess some see it as some kind of “commercialization.”

I feel that sometimes people over analyze art and are too worried about what style it is, what genre it belongs to, or what the context is.

But my taste in art is very similar to my musical taste: If something sounds good and I like it; I don’t care if it’s Country, Metal, Hip-Hop, Reggae, etc.. If I like it, then I like it.

Like Jackson Pollock once said, “If people would just look at the paintings, I don’t think they would have any trouble enjoying them. It’s like looking at a bed of flowers, you don’t tear your hair out over what it means. “

Just enjoy.

-Roz Barron Abellera
http://www.EyeOfRoz.com

Leave a Reply

