Blue Elvis

Elvis week just passed, it was from August 9 to August 17. Here’s a painting I did to pay tribute to “The King,” called ‘Blue Elvis.’ I painted him this way because the first thing I think about when I hear his name is ‘Rhythm & Blues,’ thus- ‘Blue Elvis.’

It’s hard to believe he’s been dead since August 16, 1977 and just at the tender age of 42 years old. Gone far too soon and far too young.

I love Elvis. Always have. I love every “version” of him; from the young music rebel that shook up the world, to movie star Elvis, and even “Vegas” Elvis.

This painting is from his Las Vegas years. I did it because most of the paintings I see of him are from his young Rock star years and I feel that his Vegas years are highly underrated and that some people even see these years as a joke. I disagree with this sentiment.

There was magic that came from the Vegas years and all you have to do is check out one of his performances on YouTube from that period to see. He was older, overweight but he didn’t miss a beat and he still had THE VOICE. That golden voice never went away.

To me, he was beyond just a musician or a rock star. Even beyond an Icon. I feel he was very important to the history of America because he broke down a lot of cultural boundaries with his music. They broke the mold when they made Elvis and there will never be another one like him. I hope the younger generation never forget his historical significance. I’m always honored to pay tribute to The King.

To see a detailed view of this painting click here: http://roz-abellera.artistwebsites.com/featured/blue-elvis-roz-barron-abellera.html

–Roz Barron Abellera

Leave a Reply

