Bob Ross was my late father’s favorite artist. Growing up, my father would switch on the Bob Ross show, ‘The Joy Of Painting,’  which came on Sundays on public TV. He’d say “Son, look at this guy paint, he’s good!” I would sit there amazed at how Bob Ross could paint mountains and nature scenes without a reference; it all just came out of his head through memory and techniques.

Bob Ross has videos and lessons that you can take to learn his painting techniques. Perhaps, when I have more time in my life, I’ll take some time and sit down and take one of his video lessons. But I’ve  watched his show so many times that I’m sure I’ve absorbed some things from him through osmosis.

Sadly, Bob Ross passed away from cancer in 1995 at the age of 52. Today, some people like to do parodies of him because let’s face it, he was quite a character. But this doesn’t take away from the fact that he was a genius painter in my eyes.

Every time I see a video of Bob Ross on YouTube or see a rerun on TV, it takes me back to those Sunday afternoons with my father. Bob Ross and ‘The Joy Of Painting’ will always have a special place in my heart.

–Roz Abellera

Leave a Reply

