crossroads 1 blog

In this painting, I wanted to give the crucifix a Modern Expressionist look. I enjoy painting crosses, I think they are aesthetically and structurally pleasing to the eye.

You can see I laid the paint on really thick and in some spots I laid down the paint straight on with a palette knife. I got the technique from seeing a Vincent Van Gogh painting live in person at the Ft. Lauderdale Art Museum years ago. Shamefully, I don’t remember the name of the painting but I do remember how he put that paint on really thick like icing on a cake.

I like the way the thick paint looks and I try to incorporate that technique whenever it fits the painting.

http://www.redbubble.com/people/rozabellera/works/10473702-the-crossroads-1?c=216938-roz-barron-abellera-selected-works

–Roz Abellera

Leave a Reply

