It’s with great sadness that I’m writing this tribute to Scott Weiland. The former lead singer of Stone Temple Pilots and Velvet Revolver was found dead in his sleep on December 3 by cardiac arrest. In my opinion, he was not only one of the greatest Rock singers of my ’90s generation but of all time. Like Layne Staley, Kurt Cobain, Shannon Hoon, Jeff Buckley, he is another Rock hero of my 90’s generation that’s gone too soon.

To my ’90s generation, these guys weren’t just “singers.” No, they meant a lot more to us than just that-music meant more to people back then. They were like the leaders of our “Generation X,” and we were going to change the world with our new Alternative Rock music and subculture…and so we thought. I have fond memories of that era when Alternative/Grunge took the world by storm and changed Rock music forever. Scott Weiland was like one of my era’s ambassadors. And I can’t help but feel with his passing,  the 90’s generation part of me is dead.

I was fortunate enough to have seen the Stone Temple Pilots Tiny Music tour years ago. Scott Weiland blew me away with his amazing performance. He was a one-of-a kind front man, but in him I saw shades of his influences: Jim Morrison and David Bowie, which he proudly wore on his sleeve.

A few years after that tour, Scott Weiland was admitted to the rehab which my brother was managing at the time. It was no secret to the world that he had substance abuse problems. As of this writing, the official cause of death is unknown but I’m sad to say that there are reports that drugs were found at the scene.

He was an enormously gifted man but like most artists, he was a tortured soul. I find it very sad that he couldn’t overcome his demons and find the help that he needed. He leaves behind a wife and children. I will forever remember him through his music.

–Roz Abellera

‘Plush’

 

‘Big Empty’

 

‘Interstate Love Song’

 

‘Sour Girl’

 

‘Atlanta’

 

 

Leave a Reply

