How I Quit Smoking

Posted: January 25, 2016 in culture, lesson, Roz Abellera, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I know there are pictures of me on the net, including my avatar, of me smoking cigarettes but the fact is that I haven’t smoked for 4 years. These are old pictures of me. I’m proud that I was able to quit because it wasn’t easy;  it was one of the hardest things I had to do in my life. In fact, I tried and failed 3 different times before I succeeded. I used to smoke 2 packs of Marlboro Reds a day so it was extremely tough.

First, let me make this perfectly clear: I am NOT writing this to preach to people to quit smoking. Preaching is just something I don’t do. People are free to do whatever it is they want; it’s their life. So if you enjoy smoking and want to continue, there really is no need to read further.

People quit smoking for different reasons. I had my reasons which were health related. So if you are looking to quit also, here are the steps I took to succeed:

Step One

Tell your family and friends that you are quitting. That way, the ones who are smokers will not tempt you by asking you to smoke with them or smoke in front of you. And absolutely no smoking in the car while you are driving.

Step Two

Keep yourself busy. Boredom is one of the things that can cause you to fall off the wagon. It’s important to keep your mind off smoking. These are the some of the things I did:

  • Drive to the beach
  • Go out to a movie
  • Go out to eat
  • Chew gum
  • Keep your hands busy, since I’m an artist I drew a lot.
  • Relax with breathing exercises
  • Play video games with friends
  • Drink a lot of water
  • Exercise. Whenever the urge would come, I would drop down and do ten push ups. The idea is to replace the rush you get from nicotine with the rush you get from exercise. Do whatever exercises you enjoy.

 

Step Three

Avoid anything that can mentally trigger you to smoke.

  • Throw away ashtrays, lighters, matches.
  • Hang out in a place where smoking isn’t allowed.
  • Lessen your sugar intake; too much sugar can trigger you to smoke.

 

Step Four

Keep a positive mental attitude and be persistent. Know that quitting is tough but you can do it. Stay disciplined with it. There may be times where you fall off the wagon but don’t beat yourself up for it. Get back on the wagon and keep trying.

So if you want to stop smoking, these are the things I did to stop. And if a 2 pack a day, Marlboro Red smoker can do it, so can you. Good luck.

-Roz Abellera

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

