“Anyone Can Do Anything They Want” Guy

Posted: February 1, 2017 in life, Roz Abellera, success, Uncategorized, world
Tags: , , , , ,

I’m a believer in keeping a positive mental attitude to get through life. I believe a positive attitude can help one achieve many things and help you reach seemingly unattainable goals. It sure beats being negative and miserable when confronted with an issue or problem. That only makes the problem seem worse, in my opinion.

Because of this, some friends and acquaintances have pinned me as one of those “Anyone Can Do Anything They Want” positive attitude shiny happy people. You know the type. Like the stereotypical motivational speaker who says things like”Hey, you want to be the richest man in the world? Well, if you believe, you can achieve.” Or “If you want to be a superstar athlete? Well, if you believe, you can achieve.”

Don’t get me wrong, I am a fan of many of these motivational speakers. They have a wealth of wisdom that have helped many people with their lives. And I love a lot of their quotes and philosophies. But I don’t really follow their way of thought 100%. I don’t believe a positive attitude ALONE is enough to reach your goals.

See, some of these motivational speakers for example will tell you that anyone can just have any dream they want and if they try hard enough, and believe enough, they WILL achieve it. For example, you can take Joe Blow off the street and because he wants to be an NBA basketball center so bad-it’s going to come true. Well, in my opinion, the first thing you have to ask is “Does he have the skills and does he have what it takes physically (is he the right person)?”

See, I don’t consider myself a pessimist, optimist, or even a realist. I consider myself an opportunist. I believe in odds. The harder (and smarter) you work, the more skill sets you gain, the more skill sets you gain, the more positions for opportunities you gain, the more positions for opportunities you gain, the more the odds for success are in your favor. It’s all about odds to me. And I’m all about putting the odds in my favor. This is why I’ve never had a problem with working hard, I see it as ultimately a numbers game.

So going back to the pro basketball center analogy,  if I dreamed of being an NBA pro basketball center, it more than likely wouldn’t happen. For one, I don’t have the skills. And two, I’m only 5’5. So even if I trained for years and got good at basketball and got the skills, I still don’t have the physical size for the position (Shaquille O’Neal is a basketball center for example at over 7 ft. tall). For the optimists who don’t completely agree with me, even you have to admit that the odds wouldn’t be in my favor.

So I believe in trying to achieve your dream, you have to take a serious inventory of yourself and see if you’re a fit for the role or you have the talent. And if you don’t have the natural talent, is it learn-able? Because unfortunately some things aren’t. It’s best to be realistic about these things. It’s just the way life is, some people fit into certain roles better than others.

So to my friends, no, I’m not one of these “Anyone Can Do Anything They Want” Guys. I’m more the “You Have To Be The Right Person, At The Right Place, At The Right Time” Guys.

Now go get it.

-Roz Abellera

Leave a Reply

