You Still Have A Lot To Give

Posted: May 28, 2017 in lesson, life, Roz Abellera, Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

I remember back when I was in my 20’s I thought being in your 40’s meant you were old. I used to think that the age of 40 was the point where the downward slope started and it was all downhill from there. Silly.

Now that I’m in my 40’s I find that life is just beginning. At this point, there are still a lot of things I haven’t done. A lot of goals I haven’t reached. For example, one goal I have is to become a father with my wife. This was something I didn’t want in my younger years. But people change and I’m at a point where I’m ready for it and I know I can be responsible whereas I couldn’t be before.

That’s the thing- people change. So maybe in your younger years you weren’t ready for something in life and might have made bad decisions. I know for myself, I’m not exactly the same person I was even 6 months ago. We go through changes and situations that “rewire” us and so maybe now we’re ready to handle something in life that we couldn’t before.

But I also understand that maybe at some point it’s too late for certain things. For example, I admittedly regret the fact that my future children will never meet my father, their grandfather, because he’s passed away. But there is nothing I can do about that, I have to accept it.  For years I’ve hurt over my relationship with my father and his passing. But something happened to me recently that made me realize I have to accept things that I cannot change and I have to learn to let it go. Some things just weren’t meant to be.  I’m tired of hurting. I don’t want this anymore.

So I’ve reached a point in my life where I am getting rid of past regrets, past painful situations, past painful relationships, past mistakes, things that do me absolutely no good by hanging on to it. It’s time to let go of things that are draining mentally/emotionally. This has to be done in order to move forward in life.

So if you’re in a point in life where you’re feeling old, tired and drained-you don’t have to feel like that anymore. Let go of your past mistakes, maybe things didn’t go as planned with something in your life and it left you feeling defeated. Press the restart button on your life. You don’t have to hurt anymore. Work on letting things go.

Age is not a death sentence. You still have a lot to give and life still has a lot to give you. Never give up on yourself.

-Roz

 

Leave a Reply

