Archive for October 8, 2017

PicMonkey-Munch1

I agree with this quote from the great artist Edvard Munch. I may be going off here in a tangent a little bit, but I believe the key to creating great art is by executing the basics/fundamentals first and then building upon that. And that goes for all forms of art whether it’s visual art, literature, music, movies.

Too many times, and I’ve been guilty of this myself (but I’m trying), I see art with all kinds of intricate details but I can’t “feel” what the artist was to trying convey. Most of the time it’s because the artist failed to execute the basics. A good example of this would be a movie with fancy computer effects, but for some reason you can’t get into it or worse- you’re just bored from it.

A lot of movies from the early 2000’s were guilty of this, with their fancy computer graphics but weak story lines. It’s the reason why a lot of movies from the 1980’s with their cheesy and outdated effects, were still better than your new computer graphics laden offerings from Hollywood. It’s why the old Star Wars was still better than The Phantom Menace (sorry about the Star Wars nerd-isms).

So I try to live by the philosophy of ‘K.I.S.S.’ which stands for ‘Keep It Simple, Stupid.’ It was taught to me by one of my art mentors. Whenever I’m creating and I find myself getting too “fancy schmancy,” I remember to keep it simple and make sure the fundamentals are there first.  If they are there, then I can build upon them and go a little crazy with ideas and details.

It’s like building a house: You have to worry about laying down a good foundation first before you can stress about whether the curtains are going to have fancy lace or not.

-Roz

 

 

 

